The Jitty story —
and the UK battle map
In 2023, three Deliveroo alumni — formerly at Klarna and Wise — set out to take UK buyer attention back from Rightmove. Two years on they have 3M users, zero paid acquisition, and Sequoia and REA Group on the cap table. But the real UK AI home-search battlefield isn't only Jitty.
30 months · zero to 3M users
Pre-seed to Seed took 23 months — a slow burn, but each product step is legible: NL search, then image search, then neighbourhood, then conversational agent. Last public release was the Homebuying Assistant beta on 2026-03-24.
Three founders · all early Deliveroo
Funding + product timeline
Sequoia · Atomico · True Global · ex-Zoopla COO and other angels. "Ex-Zoopla COO put money in" carried real PR weight.$3.8M / £2.8M, led by REA Group (parent of Australia's realestate.com.au), with Goodwater Ventures and Gradient following. CEO said the round would "accelerate rollout, expand partnerships, build the future home-buying experience." 23 months after pre-seed.3M cumulative users; opened a waitlist. Pitch: reduce fall-throughs by surfacing dealbreakers before viewings. The press never disclosed a fall-through delta number.Jitty isn't alone,
but no one's on the same axis
Nine AI PropTechs have raised in the UK, but none of them is doing consumer buyer-side discovery on the same axis as Jitty. Most are B2B for estate agents; the rest play in investor / lettings / shared ownership. That's a clean opening for wheretolive.
Six others that have raised
B2B for estate agents · not competitors, observation set
Three pieces landing at once ·
the window is opening
RRA Phase 2 in force today, RICS AI standard in force March, ICO AI Code in force 5-12. Whichever AI home-search startup ships transparency / opt-out / audit-trail first owns the "regulator-ready" differentiator in the UK.
Renters' Rights Act 2025 · rollout roadmap
Royal Assent on 2025-10-27, phased over five stages. Note: the Decent Homes Standard does not extend to PRS today — the timeline runs to at least 2035.
- Section 21 "no-fault" eviction · abolished
- All existing ASTs convert to Assured Periodic Tenancies (APTs)
- No more fixed terms; tenants can leave with monthly notice
- Section 8 requires lawful grounds (with new ones added)
- Rent increases capped at once every 12 months, at market rate
- Bidding wars / asking-above-list banned
- Mandatory acceptance of pensioners / benefit recipients / families with children / pets
Four-way compare · pick your row
The real competitive grid Rightmove / Zoopla / Jitty / wheretolive form on the UK buyer side.
| Rightmove | Zoopla | Jitty | wheretolive | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Traffic base | 140M MUV | ~50–70M MUV | 3M cumulative users | early stage |
| AI investment | £12M / year + ChatGPT app | OpenAI enterprise | LLM-first DNA · full-stack | scoring + recommendations |
| Business model | Agent listing fees | Agent listing fees | Never charges agents | user side |
| Core capability | Big-and-broad listings | Big-and-broad + deep data | Buyer discovery engine | Buyer-decision evaluation |
| "Should I buy" axis | None | Limited | None | 5-axis score + health check |
| RICS / ICO ready | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | window of opportunity |
Five decision inputs
no evaluation layer — there's a partnership conversation to be had about embedding wheretolive scores on Jitty listing pages.external risk + lifestyle data.AI disclosure / opt-out / audit trail ahead of Jitty turns into a moat.